Speaking Out – It’s Not Just for Moses

Christ's Reflections

Confessing Christ

I was studying Exodus 7:1-6 this morning, and my study guide asked: “What was Moses commanded to do (v.2)?”

So, I turned to the passage and found the answer: “You shall speak all that I command you…” ESV

That’s when the Holy Spirit asked me the BIG QUESTION: “Have you spoken all that I have commanded you?” When I say “big question,” I mean bigger than an 80 foot long, 40 ton, semi eighteen wheeler truck, bigger than the Space Shuttle, and even bigger than the U.S.S. Enterprise.

My honest answer was, “No, I haven’t spoken as commanded.” I’m not called to be a prophet like Moses, but I am a disciple of Christ.  And disciples of Christ are expected to speak, to be ambassadors for him, to go, to tell others about him.

Moses was commanded to bring a message of judgment on Egypt. Our message as disciples is a message of reconciliation. Good news. Mercy and grace. How can we keep from speaking? How can we stifle our expressions of faith? Why do we?

I used to think that I John 4:15 referred only to the confession I made when I came  to Christ, but now, I believe it encompasses so much more. “Whoever confesses that Jesus is the Son of God, God abides in him, and he in God.” Based on the surrounding verses, particularly the verse that precedes it, I think it means an ongoing confession of belief in Christ and speaking of his love to others:

 “And we have seen and testify that the Father has sent his Son to be the Savior of the world. Whoever confesses that Jesus is the Son of God, God abides in him, and he in God.” I John 4:14-15

My prayer is that I’ll speak for him, I’ll confess him, the next time I’m prompted to do so. And the next. And every time after that.

Blessings to you, Reader. If you have a story to share about confessing Jesus to others, we’d like to hear it.

Leave a Reply

