Please Send Someone Else to Do It

“Oh, my Lord, please send someone else.” Exodus 4:13

Moses said those words first, but I say them all the time, too–at least on the inside. God, I don’t want to be the one. Send someone else.

Let me put myself first, and I’ll give you the time I have left over. I love you, but you know I’m not the right person for this job. Whenever I hear you call, my doubts start shouting, trying to drown out your voice.

You want me to go into a hostile place and free people from slavery?

God, they won’t believe you sent me. They won’t recognize your name, and even if they do, they won’t care.

God, I’m not good with people. When I get uptight and nervous, I sound like a fool. I struggle for words and sometimes, I stutter.

What if they don’t believe me or listen to me? What if they mock me or try to hurt me? Did you know people are getting killed for talking about Jesus?

What’s that? You’ll be with me? Don’t be anxious about what to say because you’ll give me the words to say?

Ah, Lord, send me, and when I doubt, send me anyway.

Dear Reader,

Thanks for reading my post. Please rate this post, leave a question, or write a comment before you leave. 

Kathrese McKee

5 thoughts on “Please Send Someone Else to Do It

  1. Pingback: Star Wars, Still My Favorite | Kathrese McKee

  2. Boy, does that hit home — you might even think we share a gene pool or something. Ho! Great writing and super good “kick in the place that needs a kick sometimes”. Love and keep up the good work

  3. Pingback: Star Wars, Still My Favorite | Kathrese McKee

Leave a Reply

