Left-hand Lesson #4: God Uses the Broken

x-ray

Photo by michaelroper

This is the last post in the mini-series of Left-hand Lessons.

God loves a good paradox that turns us on our heads and surprises us with the difference between our logic and His.  He’s the one that inspired Paul to write about his disability in this way:

“Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”
 2 Corinthians 12:8-10

How frustrating it must have been for Paul, an apostle of Christ who had healed untold numbers of people with infirmities, to be denied healing!  God’s refusal was in fact His remedy for a deeper, more deadly spiritual malady to which Paul was susceptible: conceit.  By his own admission, Paul had an ego problem because he had received so many revelations from God.  (See verse 7 of the referenced passage.) God denied Paul’s request for healing so that Paul could experience God’s power flowing through his life and not forget its source.

When we know our weakness and we know our Source of Strength, then we can glorify God and witness to others.

Left-hand Lesson #1: I Don’t Know What You’re Doing
Left-hand Lesson #2: You Can Learn Something New
Left-hand Lesson #3: Two Hands Are Better Than One 

Leave a Reply

