The Reluctant Reader – Letting the Kindle Read about Jesus

My kids laugh at me when I admit that I listen to my Kindle “read” to me.  “Jill” or “Nancy”, the female voice on my Kindle, sounds something like the computer in 2001, A Space Odyssey (although, not so…bossy).  The Jill and Nancy names are my own, and I can’t remember which one I’m using from day-to-day because I get my Kindle’s name-of-the-day confused with the name of the British chick on my GPS, even though GPS-Girl has a cuter accent.  At least Jill-Nancy doesn’t keep saying “recalculating” unless the word is repeated in the text of the book I’m reading. (What a relief!)

Jill-Nancy is even more amusing to my kids when she reads Scripture since she doesn’t differentiate between words and numerals.  For example, when she reads Psalm 23, she says,”Psalm 23 A psalm of David. one The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not want. two He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, three he …”

You get the idea, and never mind when she reaches the footnotes at the end of a passage! However, I like listening to Jill-Nancy read the Bible to me when I’m driving around because I hear things that I simply don’t see when I’m reading to myself.  Honestly, my brain has learned to screen out the verse numbers…thirty one…, and I find myself listening to God’s Word–actually listening to the message–in a fresh, new way. Unlike an audio book, I can pause the Kindle and back up in the text to read it for myself.

This morning as I started my errands, I glanced down at the Kindle to see where Jill-Nancy was going to start.  I read the heading, “Pilate Delivers Jesus to Be Crucified” in Luke 23. My hand shot down and turned off the Kindle before Jill-Nancy could start reading.

I pulled up to a stop light and paused to reflect. Why did I turn it off? Why?

At that moment, I had a confrontation with myself. Are you afraid to read it?  I’ve read it before (like hundreds of times.) Is it too unpleasant for you? Why don’t you want to read it? I don’t know. So, are you going to turn it back on?  Are you willing to listen to it? OKAY! *eye roll* Play it already!  I’ll listen to it…AGAIN!

Blue Church Cross

Photo by Kathrese McKee

You know what?  The Word was just as wonderful–no, it was even more wonderful than all the times I had heard it before!  You see? That’s the thing. The story of the crucifixion doesn’t grow old or lose its power in the re-telling because Christ’s story doesn’t end in death. No. Christ lives, and life in Him doesn’t end in death!

Luke 23-24

2 thoughts on “The Reluctant Reader – Letting the Kindle Read about Jesus

    • I took the picture at Cypress Creek Christian Church on…twenty-two… Cypresswood Drive in Spring, TX. It’s from a door panel. Obviously, I tinted the photo blue. Kathrese McKee

      ________________________________ Momsread Blog Christ's Reflections Blog Follow me on Twitter @go2thebook

Leave a Reply

